Reviews

 

Nothing to Add!       Guest: Rob, Germany            16 March, 2015

There is basically nothing to add to the other reviews. This is a great place to stay. The apartment is well equipped, proper. The tub rocks, with a great view of the mountains. We would come back any time!

Rob: I’m so glad you all enjoyed it and found our place well equipped. I envy you the view of the mountains from the hot tub and can’t wait to return there ourselves!   Annelise

Great Place to Stay        Guest: Brix, Kelowna          Date of Stay, February 3, 2015
We had a really great time in this condo. I found they had everything we needed, and the lay-out was fantastic. I certainly see the benefit of bunk beds for kids, but when adults rent it, it is a bit of an inconvenience. We had newlyweds sleeping in bunk beds! The only other issue was getting there from the village. If you aren’t driving, it is a hike, but it was totally worth it. Loved the hot tub!

Brix: So glad you had a great stay. It’s always hard for couples in the bunk room – maybe next time the newly weds deserve one of the Queen beds?? Curious to hear you walked up to the village. We loved just scooting down and taking the free gondola straight to the center. Annelise 

Wonderfully comfortable and equipped!  Guest, Christine J     Sep 2014
An absolutely fabulous apartment with great views. A superbly comfortable bed and very well equiped. The hot tub was a god send. Nothing happening on the mountain in summer (lots of new things happening now), but it didn’t seem to take too long to drive to Kelowna area each day, and the scenery on the journey is stunning. It would be an amazingly vibrant place to stay in the skiing season, and is beautifully relaxing in summer.
Christine: So glad you loved the place. You’re right it is pretty quiet in summer, but they have opened up restaurants and hiking trails to encourage more out of season guests along with road races, country craft, music & beer festivals. Should be even better for this summer! Annelise

Very Nice Place to Stay!    Guest: Theresa F.    Date of Stay, 17 March, 2014

The owner is so friendly it makes me feel like I was communicating with a friend rather than just a landlord. The unit is beautifully decorated and well equipped, you can find anything you need just as you are at home. By the end of a tired ski day, you can rest in the private hot tub with a fantastic mountain view. A couple of suggestions: A. a written direction of ski in/out; B. some thinner blankets since the unit is quite warm. Overall, we enjoyed the stay very much. Thank you!

Theresa: Thank you for your encouraging comments. The idea of more details for the ski-in/out is a good idea and we’ll certainly do some for next season. (now in condo ready) Perhaps I’ll get the heating turned down slightly or maybe opening some windows might help? It’s great to ‘connect with guests’ even if mainly by emails!! Annelise

Family of 9!    Guest: Rolanda Baril        3 February, 2014

Just got home from our family vacation and I wish we could go back already! There was plenty of space for all of us – 4 adults & 5 kids! We especially loved having the hot tub! This was our first time at Big White and it was fantastic. We definitely hope to come back again! Thank you!

Rolanda, I’m delighted that you had such a great time – BW is an amazing resort!  The hot tub is great – day or night and folk are always amazed by how much space we have – must get some wide angle shots done to show it off!  Looking forward to hosting you all again.  Annelise

Family’cation’    Guest: Linda Erickson    Date of Stay: 21 January, 2014

The property was nicely appointed and the kitchen was very well equipped.  Enough dishes and glassware so didn’t have to put the dishwasher on after every meal. It felt like a home away from home.   Bit of a walk down to Happy Valley so we were glad that we had brought a sled so that the kids could be towed rather than being carried as they tired easily when walking.   Skiing back to unit was easy and convenient.

Linda, I’m so glad you had a wonderful Family’cation’ – what a great name! It’s always lovely to hear. The sledge is a good idea for little ones and I bet you had fun using it.  Good to hear the ski-in worked well, especially with the littlies.   Looking forward to hosting you for your next    ‘ski-ation’!!! Annelise

A Special Christmas   Guest: Mairi Mcfarlane        24 December, 2013

Firstly I’d like to thank you for being so communicative and informative to us each step of the way from Initial enquiries right through to our stay and afterwards.  It is such a delight to know that we had that support.

Our stay . . .After arriving through the snow we finally made it, after a slight hitch with one of our cars, to a view of thick snow covered buildings and a gorgeous sunset over the valley.  What a start to the holiday!  The place looked immaculate and we were impressed with the size.  All bedrooms were very comfy and cosy and had plenty of storage space.

We all had an absolutely fantastic week!  We very much enjoyed dipping into the hot tub after a long day on the slopes.  The snow for us was amazing.  We got snow on Christmas Day and Boxing Day, just topping off that lovely fluffy snow that was already there and adding to our magical experience. The skiing/boarding was amazing!  Fantastic runs on and off piste!  We all had a lot of fun riding around every day.

I would say one thing about your pictures though.  You are not doing it justice size wise.  We think that if you could somehow get a couple of pictures with a wide angle lens or even re adjust the angle you take them from that you would be able to give people a much better feel for the size of the place.  We were very surprised at how much bigger it looked in real life. It’s a great place, you should show it off!

Anyway . . .None of us had ever been to Big White before so the resort was all new for us.  We thought it was very quaint and picturesque, certainly a perfect place for a Christmas holiday.  There were lovely little bar/restaurants with friendly staff and a great selection of food and drink. Although we did cook and eat in most of the time, and thankfully you have a very well equipped kitchen!  It was great!  We were able to cook everything that we had planned without worrying about what utensils or dishes we had forgotten to bring, it was all there for us.

All in all we had a fantastic Christmas week at Raven 208.  We felt very well looked after having the support from you and your resident staff members.  The place was beautiful and we would certainly come again!!

Mairi, Thank you for being so complimentary.  We do enjoy looking after our guests and are delighted to have exceeded your expectations.  You’re right about our photos though and we’ll have to get some more done to show our place off to its best advantage!  Looking forward to seeing you all again sometime soon!  Annelise

Family Get Away    Guest: Priya Batchelor        August 01, 2013

We were travelling with family and children ages 11 to 16 – 9 of us altogether. We all enjoyed our stay. The unit was beautiful, spacious, modern and very clean. It is very quiet in Big White during the summer, so there was really nothing to do at the resort, except take in the magnificent views and fresh mountain air. The kids were disappointed that the pool was closed for maintenance; but enjoyed the hot tub that was on the deck. The owners were also very helpful in answering our questions and addressing any of our concerns. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return.

Priya, It’s great to hear you all had such a lovely time. Our place certainly lends itself to large family groups being so spacious and Sheila is always wonderful at preparing the place for our guests. As you say, the mountain is very peaceful out of the ski season and that’s why sadly it’s not worth keeping the swimming pool open. However, I’m glad you enjoyed the hot tub – other friends have commented on how good it is for star gazing! We certainly aim to make your stay as comfortable and convenient as possible, thank you for your appreciative review. We’re looking forward to hosting you again! Annelise

Over the Top    Guest: Darlene Chatwell (Saskatoon)      August 21, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our family time at Big White.. It was a great place to stay. The kitchen supplies were over the top!! …..Everything and more that we could of wished for and it was so nice not to be steady washing dishes to set a table.  The only item we missed having was having a blender . All the little extras supplied for the children added to the feeling of home. We would highly recommend the property for a winter vacation.  As there is very limited summer activities we ended up on the road more than we anticipated to the beach and other recreation spots in Kelowna due to blistering hot temperatures during our stay as there is no AC ( which we were aware of).

Darlene, So glad you enjoyed the place and all it has to offer. Thank you for your suggestion of a blender which is now sitting proudly in the kitchen awaiting future guests. We’ve also put in several fans and insect screens on the external doors so you can leave them open for more natural ventilation when it’s hot! Hopefully this will ensure that future guests have more fresh air when the weather hots up. Annelise

Spring Break Exceeded Our Expectations    Guest: Grant Haves    March 10, 2013

The condo exceeded our expectations and would definitely stay here again. There was plenty of room for the five of us ( three adults, and two kids under 16 ) and the kitchen was fantastic. We picked up groceries in town on our way from the airport and it was great to have lunch and breakfast in the condo each day. Hot tub was great as well after skiing all day. Skiing in to the condo is possible but skiing out isn’t as easy. There is some walking involved but really not that bad. As I noted above, I’d definitely stay here again.

Grant: So glad to hear that our place exceeded expectations. It is great to be so accessible to pop back for meals. The ski-out is easier when you can just pop on the skis and zoom off, but when the snow’s a little thinner, you do have to walk across the road and then it’s three minutes down to the Gondola. Look forward to hosting you again!! Annelise

Lemmings    Guest: Brian Erichson (Vancouver)     March 7, 2013

Great place! Great layout with lots of open space in the living room and kitchen. View from the hot tub was great! Easy to get in and out of for skiing. 3rd Bedroom had bunk beds which were not great for adults but still worked.

Brian, I’m so glad you all enjoyed the place – particularly the ski access and hot tub views. It’s always interesting scrambling up to a bunk bed the older we get (we’ve since added a ladder and don’t forget the two double sofa beds are another option next time) – hopefully folk enjoyed the fun atmosphere once up there! Annelise

A Wonderful Place for a Ski Holiday with Family    Bill &Nancy Moulton   March 19, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay while having a ski holiday. Because of the three bedrooms and pull-out sofas, we were able to accommodate a total of 7 people without difficulty. The ‘kids’ bedroom was a ‘hit’ with our 8-year old granddaughter. She loved having her own space and has already told us she wants to go back next year. The ‘boot drying rack’ was a first for all of us and worked really well. The boots dried quickly in the evening and then were warmed-up in the morning before another day of skiing. The hot tub was well used after a long day on the hill. The support from the staff at Raven was excellent. They were most accommodating and were there quickly when we had a few minor glitches. Thank you for sharing your lovely condo with our family. As I think you can tell, we really enjoyed it.

Nancy: I’m delighted you all had such a great time. The kid’s bedroom does have a fun style and the hot tub and boot dryers have been a real hit with all our guests. Looking forward to hosting you again next year!! Annelise

Guest: Huw Evans       February 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the property. The property was very well furnished, clean and well-maintaned. The owners were very helpful and have gone to great lengths to ensure that the guests enjoy their stay. I would recommend this property.

Huw: I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay … it’s been fun this first year of looking after the property and is great to hear you felt welcomed! Annelise

 Locals enjoy this place!    Guest: Denise Butticii      February 17, 2013

We found this to be a perfect spot for our family.  The skiers in the bunch had easy ski in/out access (including our 6 year old grandson) and non-skiers were 5 minutes from the Happy Valley gondola, skating rink, sleigh rides etc..  We particularly enjoyed the hot tub, with a great  of the  Saturday night fireworks.  The condo was well equipped with everything we needed in the kitchen, bathrooms and bedrooms.  Spacious and nicely furnished, it felt just like home. Neighbours were quiet. The owner was fantastic to deal with, accessible for questions and quick responses.  The weather was fantastic, spring skiing in January.  We would definitely make a return trip to this unit

Denise I’m delighted that you all had a wonderful time and look forward to hosting you on another occasion!!

Precious Christmas Memories    Guest: Darren McDougall     Christmas 2012

What a wonderful place to enjoy Christmas with the family.  Big White has activities for everyone to enjoy.  The accommodation was everything we had hoped for.  This condo was very clean, well equipped with high-end kitchen accessories, heated floors, boot dryer (nice touch), and is conveniently located to Ski in/Ski out and walk to the outdoor ice skating.  We lacked nothing at all.  The private hot tub on the deck was especially enjoyable after a day on the slopes followed by a cosy evening watching a movie on Netflix.  It was a true pleasure dealing with the owners and I look forward to renting again in the future.   Thank you Annelise for helping us create a Christmas memory.  

Darren,  We’re so glad you had a wonderful time.  Christmas memories are always special to create and cherish with your family! As an owner who’s just taken over managing our place, I’ve enjoyed trying to ensure that all goes smoothly and am delighted that you loved it all. We love the location and hot tub and can’t wait to try out the new boot dryers when we next come over!  Annelise

Great Off Season Stay!    Guest: Gillian (Brooklin, Ontario)      Oct 11, 21012

My husband and I stayed here off season to visit some friends that live in Big White. The unit is beautiful and is great for a family or two. The open concept is perfect for enjoying a vacation while the bedrooms allow for a very comfortable environment if you just want to have some quiet time! We had a few questions and the on-site contact was extremely responsive and helpful, as was Annelise (the owner). Would love to stay here again in season!!

Thanks Gillian I’m so glad that you enjoyed the stay. It’s certainly a great place for out of season stays – wonderful views and peaceful, yet only 40 mins down the mountain into Kelowna with all that offers. Great to visit friends or bring them with you for a special occasion or large get-together! Looking forward to hosting you in the ski season too.  Annelise

Welcome Folder
Welcome Folder